University Structure

Faculty of Physics

Irina Melchakova
  • Office phone
    +7 (812) 457-18-46
    +7 (931) 961-92-07
  • Click to call
  • Office homepage
  • Go


  • International Research and Educational Center for Nanophotonics and Metamaterials

ITMO University’s Faculty of Physics grew out of the International Research Center of Nanophotonics and Metamaterials, an institution world renowned for its high-profile scientific research.

The Faculty is working on over 20 research areas in the field of nanophotonics, quantum optics, optoelectronics, optomechanics, biophotonics, radiophysics, and advanced materials. Its staff includes more than 300 employees: more than 80 postdocs and research associates and over 100 students in PhD, Master’s, and Bachelor’s programs. 

The concept of “new physics” represents the ongoing development of the faculty that encompasses new research fields, advanced educational approaches, creative freedom, confidence in young colleagues, support of employees’ personal growth, and a strong administrative team.

The faculty has three research laboratories:

  • optical laboratory;

  • microwave laboratory;

  • laboratory of perovskite optoelectronics.


Map Building plans

Content © 1993–2024 ITMO University
Development © 2014 ITMO University
General regulations of Information Use