The International Council

About Us

ITMO University’s International Council

Established in 2014 as part of the University's new and innovative governance approach, the Council was created primarily for the purpose of providing significant support to the University’s development and internationalization process. Its role is to provide the University with high-level guidance on all aspects of the University’s academic and research areas, governance and development in line with the direction and practices of internationally recognized universities. 

The International Council has been meeting twice a year since 2014. During each meeting, the Council’s members explore the pressing questions faced by the University, helping the University’s administration to make plans and align its strategies with the latest experiences and findings from around the world.

Current International Council Members

Vladimir Vasilyev

  • Post
    Rector of ITMO University
  • Rank
  • Degree

Daria Kozlova

  • Post
    First Vice Rector
  • Rank
    Associate Professor
  • Degree

Lesley Wilson

  • Post
    Secretary General of the European University Association

Yuri Gunko

  • Post
    Head of International Research and Education Centre for Physics of Nanostructures of ITMO University, Professor at Trinity College (Dublin), the winner of the mega-grant for research from Russian Government

Xi-Cheng Zhang

  • Post
    M. Parker Givens Chair of Optics, University of Rochester

Yuri Kivshar

  • Post
    Research Director at the Nonlinear Physics Centre of the Australian National University, Co-Chair of the International Research Center for Nanophotonics and Metamaterials, ITMO University

Paul Urbach

  • Post
    Former President of the European Optical Society (EOS), Professor and Head of the Optics Research Group of TUDelft, Delft University of Technology, Netherlands

Peter Sloot

  • Post
    Professor of Complex Adaptive Systems, Department of Science of University of Amsterdam (UvA), Netherlands, Scientific Director of the Institute for Advanced Study, University of Amsterdam (UvA), Netherlands, Professor of Complex Systems, NTU, Singapore, Co-Director of Complexity Institute, NTU, Singapore, Professor at National Center for Cognitive Technologies, ITMO University, St. Petersburg, Russian Federation

Debra Stewart

  • Post
    Senior Fellow at NORC at the University of Chicago and Pres. Emerita of Council of Graduate Schools

Andrew Comrie

  • Post
    Professor of School of Geography & Development, University of Arizona

Sijbolt Noorda

  • Post
    President emeritus of the University of Amsterdam, past president of the Association of Dutch Research Universities and a former board member of the European University Association

Wei Zhao

  • Post
    Chief Research Officer at American University of Sharjah, former Rector (President) and Chair Professor at Macau University

Andrew Wachtel

  • Post
    Rector, Narxoz University

Christoph Badelt

  • Post
    Director of the Austrian Institute of Economic Research and professor at the Vienna University of Economics and Business, Former rector of the Vienna University of Economics and Business


Map Building plans

Content © 1993–2021 ITMO University
Development © 2014 Department of Information Technologies
General regulations of Information Use