History & Honors


In 2004, 2008, 2009, 2012, 2013, 2015 and 2017 ITMO University's team took first place in the ACM World Programming Contest. Currently, our team is the world's only seven-time ACM ICPC champion.

Other recent wins of ITMO University's team:

Google Hash Code 2018, first place (Ireland)
                  ACM International Collegiate Programming Contest, third place (China)

    Huawei Honor Cup, first place (Russia)
                      VK Cup 2018, first place (Russia)

Robot Challenge 2018, first place (China)
                 RoboCup Asia-Pacific 2017, second place (Thailand)
                 Robotex 2017, first place (Estonia)
                 World Robot Olympiad 2017, first place (Costa Rica)
                 National Robotics Olympiad, first place (Russia)


Prestigious International Awards

  • In September 2018, ITMO University Biochemistry Cluster professor Ekaterina Skorb was awarded a L’Oréal-UNESCO fellowship for her outstanding contribution to science.
  • In July 2018, two Associates of the ITMO International Research and Educational Center for Nanophotonics and Metamaterials, Tel Aviv University PhD student Dmitry Filonov and ITMO University PhD student Alena Schelokova, received a prestigious IEEE Photonics Society Graduate Student Fellowship Award commemorating high-achieving PhD students for their cutting-edge research.
  • In July 2018, Xi-Cheng Zhang, head of ITMO’s International Institute of Photonics and Optical Information Technology and a member of ITMO's International Council, was recognized with an influential Alexander von Humboldt award.


Take a look at our position in various rankings here.

Map Building plans

Content © 1993–2020 ITMO University
Development © 2014 Department of Information Technologies
General regulations of Information Use